Ma! The Meatloaf!

meatloaf

When I was younger I had an aversion to any meat or poultry product that had visible “fat” on it: the fatty white parts of a chicken bone, or the gristle on a piece of steak. The sight, the texture—it immediately made me nauseous.

While I fought off the urge to vomit when presented with fat-ridden meat for dinner, my mother liked to point out that I had no problem demolishing a fat-dripping Whopper Jr. from Burger King, which at age 11,  tasted like heaven.

“That’s not FAT!” I’d say indignantly. “It’s not the same thing.” My mother would laugh. “Oh, yes it is Nicole…yes it is…”

One of the only ways my mother could sneak non-fast food meat into my diet was through meatloaf. Yes, I know, I couldn’t stomach a sliver of iridescent gristle, but for some reason ground meat in the shape of a loaf of bread was acceptable. To this day, I try to steer clear of Burger King (though I can’t say I’ve written it off completely)…and I love to cook my mother’s meatloaf. Here’s her recipe:

Ma’s Meatloaf

Ingredients (Serves 3-4)

  • 1 lb. ground beef or turkey
  • 1/2 packet of french onion soup mix
  • 1/2 cup of tomato sauce
  • 1/2 cup steel oats
  • 1 egg
  • 1 mozzarella string cheese stick
  • 1/2 cup herbed bread crumbs
  • 1-2 teaspoons water

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375.
  2. Mix ground beef, egg, tomato sauce, steel oats, french onion mix, bread crumbs, and water in a mixing bowl.
  3. Transfer half of the mixture to bread pan.
  4. Place string cheese stick in the center, covering with the rest of the meat mixture.
  5. Cook 55 minutes to 1 hour, serve.

Can be enjoyed with mashed potatoes and the mood-setting tunes of Meatloaf himself.

Meatloaf

Meatloaf, the Studliest of Man Meat

Leave a Reply

