Make-Ahead Smoothies

Make-Ahead Smoothie

Every morning I wake up at the last minute, leaving me with almost no time to eat breakfast. To avoid starting the day fainting on the subway from hunger, I look for recipes and tips for quick breakfasts. For example, a few weeks ago there was a post about a recipe for steel-cut oats that could be frozen in portions for a quick zap in the microwave in the morning (Oatmeal Pucks). Leading off of this post, I have found another quick breakfast solution—make-ahead smoothies.

The go-to breakfast for me is a yummy fruit smoothie with yogurt and almond milk (or juice). There are two reasons why this is my go-to breakfast. One, as I said, it’s yummy and I love fresh fruit. Two, I can carry it around with me while I am getting ready.

The only problem is that I don’t have the time in the morning to wash and prepare the fruit. So on Sundays I wash and cut the fruit, puree it in a blender, pour the juice into ice cube trays, and freeze it. Then during the week, all I have to do is put four cubes of pureed fruit in the blender, add some yogurt and almond milk (or whatever you prefer), blend it, and I have a quick smoothie to drink. I don’t add the yogurt and almond milk when pre-blending the fruit because it doesn’t re-blend well. Another plus is that the make-ahead smoothie also works with juicing veggies. Juice some carrots and spinach, freezing it in ice cube trays, and add those to your smoothie in the morning for a little healthy kick to the beginning of your day.

Leave a Reply

