Re-Purposing for the Common Klutz

I’ll be the first to admit how clumsy I am. I can’t go a day without stubbing my toe or dropping something or slipping. I get paranoid about it and don’t use glass cups unless guests are over because I KNOW I will drop them or knock them over.  But I like to think of the glass as half full–or, maybe, only half-broken–and use my propensity to break things to make new things.

A beautiful min-garden made from a broken pot by the people at NatureWork.com

Jewelry is one of my favorite ways to use broken items. You can make a necklace out of broken glass, ceramic, or clay with just a few extra supplies. Buy some glue-on bails and ribbon from your local craft store, then use a disposable nail file or sandpaper, if you have it, to soften the edges of the glass.  Put it all together and you will have a unique piece of jewelry and have kept a few extra things out of the landfills. Recycling never looked so good!

I love using odd bits and pieces, like broken computer parts. I made this necklace from an old Pentium processor with a glue-on bail and a little resin over the top to keep it smooth.

I used resin to make the top smooth and not so sharp

I used resin to make the top not so sharp

Pentium Processor Necklace

Pentium Processor Necklace

Try making practical but pretty things for around the house. Broken bottles and jars, if mostly intact, can be turned into candles or vases after you file the sharp edges. Paint them, glue tissue paper on–do whatever you think will make that broken piece look like art. Ever accidentally ruin a book by dropping it in a puddle or spilling something on it so that the pages become utterly warped? SavedByLoveCreations.com has some really awesome uses for old and destroyed books, like turning them into shelves. As with most things, I like to turn them into jewelry, though.

I may have destroyed a perfectly good copy of The Canterbury Tales, but with a little paint, it became one of my favorite necklaces

I may have destroyed a perfectly good copy of The Canterbury Tales, but with a little paint, a piece of it became one of my favorite necklaces

See? Clumsy isn’t so bad. Turn your talent for falling and breaking things into a positive by making something new. Then just try not to break that too 😉

Leave a Reply

